Farewell letters

Will you?

I really miss handwritten letters. With dancing letters, few corrections, lines going up or down. Love letters with  a modest splash of the favorite perfume, that hopefully awakens memories of the receiver…

How to say good-bye to someone, if you don’t know the address to give to snail  for  your handwritten letter delivery? How do sayonara letters look like? How do bye-bye letters sound? How these letters are read – silently or out loud? Once or many times? Secretly or to the audience as well? What do these letters raise  – anger, relief, need for revenge, satisfaction or tranquility?

Is it necessary to say good bye, if you had  sizzling online romance and the things turned out to be a fizzle offline? If you don’t care, you just turn around and walk away silently (or loudly?).

It’s fair to say good-bye, I need that to move forward . It’s polite, it’s honest, it’s rewarding.  But at the same time there is something very selfish in writing goodbye letters. They  keep you fucking firmly from going back… Last week I was struggling with  contradictory feelings  writing two letters  and  my friend dropped me  a line full of his wisdom:

Regarding farewell letters, I think you just send one when you (consciously or unconsciously ) do not want the story to finish… it is the last try to make the others realize what the great person they will be missing…

I can’t  live in the past,  I choose to live in the future. Present is perfect for saying bye. It’s not easy at all.  I always try to remember sincere and warm moments, mention good things I loved about the other person, and honestly wish good luck – why not?  Does it look like I am clingy? No. I just know it’s better for myself than  throwing knives or being angry.

“Love me or hate me, both are in my favor…If you love me, I’ll always be in your heart…If you hate me, I’ll always be in your mind.” William Shakespeare

If you love and you are loved, you stay, if  don’t – you write a nice goodbye letter and walk  away with peaceful  and open mind. You need to get your heart and your mind back. Always after.

No regrets,  just thankful for this life lesson and ready for another one…

Do you write farewell letters or do you receive them? What was the best one?  Please share!

Update:

You should write farewell letters , even if sometimes they arrive too late or never, because you can learn you were his last woman…

 

 
 
 
 
